Future Transport Systems and Ricardo develop fast EV charger

LinkedIn +

Future Transport Systems (FTS) and Ricardo have revealed the results of a collaboration to create an innovative new EV charging concept.

The E-STOR station reuses old EV batteries, charging them from a standard 3kW electrical connection to reduce the strain on the electricity grid but enabling high-capacity fast-charging of electric vehicles.

The modular platform will initially be available with 50kWh and 100kWh storage versions, using old Renault EV batteries, but can be adapted for various applications. The companies say the concept offers a bridge between on-road use and the end-of-life recycling of battery systems.

Assisting FTS in the development of the E-STOR charging station, Ricardo developed the TCP/Modbus, CAN, RS 485 and Ethernet communications, and selected the appropriate control system hardware to implement the E-STOR application software.

“We are pleased to have assisted FTS on the development of this important product,” said head of Ricardo hybrid and electric systems, Stephen Doyle. “Ricardo has worked with a range of charging station developers on systems that aim to balance the convenience of EV charging that owners require, while also attempting to avoid stress on the local distribution network.

“The FTS E-STOR product is attractive as it achieves this by energy buffering using second-life batteries rather than relying simply on demand management, thus offering a highly practical and more sustainable solution.”

October 14, 2015

Share this story:

About Author


Dean has been with UKi Media & Events for over a decade, having previously cut his journalistic teeth writing and editing for various automotive and engineering titles. He combines extensive knowledge of all things automotive with a passion for driving, and experience testing countless new vehicles, engines and technologies around the world. As well as his role as editor-in-chief across a range of UKi's media titles, he is also co-chair of the judging panel of the International Engine + Powertrain of the Year Awards.

Comments are closed.