Schaeffler AG appoint new Co-CEO of Automotive

LinkedIn +

Schaeffler AG has announced the appointment of Matthias Zink (above) as a member of the Executive Board of Schaeffler AG. He is, as Co-CEO Automotive, responsible for the business divisions Transmission Systems, Automotive Aftermarket and Research and Development for the Automotive division. Zink has succeeded Norbert Indlekofer, who left the company on December 31, 2016 at his own request.

Zink studied mechanical engineering at the University of Karlsruhe. His key area of study was automotive engineering. After his degree in 1994 he started working as a test engineer at the Schaeffler brand LuK in Bühl, Germany. In subsequent years, he has held various leadership positions before becoming responsible for the Clutch Systems Business Unit in 2006. After leading the business unit successfully for six years, he assumed the position as President of Schaeffler Automotive Asia/Pacific in China in 2012. In 2014, Matthias Zink transferred back to Germany to become president of the Transmission Technologies Business Unit. In July 2014, he was appointed president of the Transmission Systems Business Division.

“We are delighted to have appointed Matthias Zink to the Executive Board of Schaeffler AG,” explained Georg F. W. Schaeffler, chairman of the supervisory board of Schaeffler AG. “Mr. Zink is a long-standing employee of Schaeffler and a renowned expert in transmission systems. He will play a decisive role in the further development of our offering into the direction of electric mobility.”

Share this story:

About Author


Dean has been with UKi Media & Events for over a decade, having previously cut his journalistic teeth writing and editing for various automotive and engineering titles. He combines extensive knowledge of all things automotive with a passion for driving, and experience testing countless new vehicles, engines and technologies around the world. As well as his role as editor-in-chief across a range of UKi's media titles, he is also co-chair of the judging panel of the International Engine + Powertrain of the Year Awards.

Comments are closed.